Bookish Pet Peeves

Today I’m going to write about some of my bookish pet-peeves. Now, I have a lot of general pet-peeves but some of my favorite books from my favorite genres cause the *eye roll*

Some of my pet-peeves will be expected since we all seem to have the same irritations with our favorite Young Adult Literature (why do these issues still exist? Can’t the authors hear us?)

Other issues I have may be more surprising…or not.  I guess we’ll see.

1. Insta-love. I think that we can all agree that this is an all too common issue in YAL.  Unless you do it really well, insta-love will always fail.  While teenagers are emotional and tend to fall quickly, this is becoming a bit ridiculous. How can you have a strong heroine who can’t handle herself around an attractive man? That doesn’t even make sense.

2. Gasp. But, seriously, this is getting annoying.  No one GASPS that often, knock it off.  He said he always loved me and I gasped because why?  Are we all tied into our corsets a bit too tight?  Please, please, please stop.  No one does this and if they do, if they are that obnoxious, I bet they don’t have any love interests because no one wants to deal with a gasper on a daily basis. Just saying.

3. Love triangles. .Why is that every heroine these days has two specific men after her? Why? And why do they always become love interests around the same time? Come on. Gale didn’t show any signs of true feelings for Katniss until she started galavanting around with Peeta. And this happens in the Legend series by Marie Lu, although I have to say she does it much better.  Still, it’s becoming too much of a thing and we’ve all had it.  Come up with something different, please. I hate buying the same books over and over.

4. Switching POVs. While some people tend to enjoy this more, it drives me insane and it’s usually because I can’t tell the difference between the two. Like in Twilight, why was Jacob’s POV needed? I mean, yeah, it was interesting to get a more in-depth look at his world but, let’s be honest, I didn’t care about the wolves. If you wanted to give me a new POV, you should have given me Edward. That would have been worthwhile.  The only author I’ve seen succeed with switching POVs is Marie Lu but that’s because I love Day and June equally.

5. Exclamation points. Let me be honest here. I hate exclamation points in almost all things. Facebook posts Twitter posts. Emails. Texts. Books. Those exclamation points have got to go; especially in the YA genre. I feel as though people don’t understand how they’re supposed to be used. SHOW me exclamations, don’t tell me about them.

6. Beautiful girls who think they’re ugly. There is nothing wrong with a girl thinking she is beautiful; actually that might be the breath of fresh air we all need. It’s hard to take a character seriously if they are described with long, thick hair, big eyes, small waist, delicate hands, blah, blah, blah, and then the same girl goes on through the WHOLE book with insecurity issues on her looks while every fucking guy is trying to win her over. That’s stupid, first of all. Second of all, you’ve just made your character completely unrealistic, so stop.

7. Exceptions to the rule. It seems that lately there have been many books out about a a world or a person with a curse/gift. But, somehow, there are always these exceptions like “The world WILL END!” except that it won’t and it’s actually a very easy fix. “You will DIE if you come any closer,” except he/she doesn’t and everything is fine and they hook up. Come on. Give me some depth.

Alright, so I could only think of seven in this moment.  That’s a lie, I thought of more but I feel like seven is a good place to stop. Do you agree with these? Do you disagree? Let me know.

Peace, Love & Empathy.

Leave a Reply

