Friday – Rhyme Day

Yes, I know that the title of this post doesn’t technically rhyme, but that’s okay, because what I’m going to talk about on Fridays, poetry, doesn’t necessarily rhyme either. Unfortunately, people who don’t like poetry are the people who don’t know about real poetry. I know that I can find a poet for every person. My boyfriend never enjoyed poetry, always thought it had to be cheesy and rhyme…and then he discovered that an author he liked, Charles Bukowski, was a poet. He picked up Slouching Towards Nirvana and he was hooked. 

So, on Fridays I will be posting about a book of poetry I’ve read. I won’t go into too much detail but I will explain what I liked about it or didn’t like about it and give it a star rating. Hopefully, because of this, you will find that you aren’t as anti-poetry as you thought you were.

This week I read Lacemakers by Claire McQuerry.

LacemakersPoetry

Lacemakers by Claire McQuerry
Published on January 19th, 2012
Purchased as Paperback on Amazon

As superficial as this sounds, I fell in love with the cover (don’t judge, we ALL do this). But most of all I was desperate to read more modern poetry. Don’t get me wrong, I like the classics as well; Dickinson, Cummings, Whitman, but I needed something I could relate to in a language I understood.

This book of poetry is beautiful, there’s not doubt. Is it my favorite book of poetry? No. I found that some of the poems felt a bit disjointed, possibly not fully fleshed out, but the language was beautiful and there was an imagination factor I really adored. If you’re new to poetry, don’t make this your first choice, but keep it in mind for later. It’s quick and full of beautiful words.

HeartRatesHeartRatesHeartRatesHeartRates

Leave a Reply

